The Big Wedding (2013)

thebigweddingbanner

Directed by: Justin Zackham
Written by: Justin Zackham, Jean-Stéphane Bron (motion picture “Mon frère se marie”)
Starring: Robert de Niro, Susan Sarandon, Diane Keaton, Topher Grace, Katherine Heigl, Robin Williams, Amanda Seyfried, Ben Barnes

You know a movie isn’t very good when critics use ‘all star cast’ as a euphemism for no plot.  At least that’s what I discovered when I tried to find something to say about this romantic wedding comedy.  Other than the famous faces that populate it, there is absolutely nothing memorable or forgivable about this 89 minute cliche.  The worst part is that they tried to modernize a tired genre that desperately needs reinventing but forgot to update the dialogue and punch lines at the same time.

What I liked: The location is beautiful.  I wouldn’t mind getting married at the lakeside property where it was shot.  Robin Williams was sort of funny.  Topher Grace delivered a couple of funny lines.  I’m curious to know if the original French version had the same punch lines that just didn’t translate well or if Hollywood butchered what could have been a fun romp.

What I didn’t like: Everything.  From the forced story, the clichéd dialogue and expected crises, to the undedicated cast, the sloppy editing and the laboured jokes. I groaned at every new scene and rubbed my forehead with each punch line.  However, in fairness to Zackham, he clearly targeted and reached a certain audience because my theatre was roaring with laughter and I just didn’t get it.  Maybe I’m too young to appreciate the trite sex jokes delivered by Sarandon, de Niro and Keaton and felt they were too old, or respected, to be convincing.  My feeling throughout was that Zackham must cringe when he watches this film.

My rating: I wish I could unsee every minute of it.

IMDB: 5.1

Rotten Tomatoes: 8% (Yup. That’s an 8. Top critics gave it a 4%)

Leave a Reply

